Xbox One 001 - XOne

Xbox One Developers Given A Monthly Gamerscore Increase Limit


So with the Xbox One finally being announced some details about how the Gamerscore and Achievements will be tweaked have slowly trickled out over the last few days.

First and foremost, yes your Gamerscore will carry over from the Xbox 360 to the Xbox One.

The second thing that has come to light is that developers will have the ability to make changes to the achievements AFTER the game has shipped. There are a few good things that can come out of this a few bad ones as well. It’s a completionist’s nightmare come true, but if there are glitchy achievements the developer could fix them quickly and seamlessly (in theory, of course).

According to Xbox One program manager, Chad Gibson, developers will also be able to add Gamerscore to games months after the game has shipped. This is basically to reward the players who are still playing the game months and even years later.

There is a limit in place though, a “monthly cap” if you will. Here is what Chad Gibson had to say about the new achievement details,

“We’re seeing people get all 1,000 Gamerscore in the first two weeks, and then still be playing that game two months later,” said Gibson.

“We want developers to offer Achievements and interesting things to do long after a game ships. You could be playing a game for a year and get a couple thousand Gamerscore because the developer is adding new Achievements every week or every month.”

“Developers won’t be adding 10,000 Gamerscore a day,” Gibson continued. “The cap is, developers have Gamerscore they can spend every month. We don’t want to overwhelm gamers.”

I don’t necessarily think this is a bad idea in some ways.  It will reward players who put hundreds (and maybe thousands) of hours into games like Call Of Duty, Borderlands, Fallout, Elder Scrolls, etc. But it will keep some gamers from trading in their games in anticipation of new achievements coming out, but I’d say to the majority of casual gamers it won’t make a difference.

I think there needs to be an overall limit though. A year and a half to two years should be the max timeframe that there should be any new achievements added unless they are still supporting the game DLC. But that’s just my personal opinion.

What do you all think about this new achievement system?

2 comments on “Xbox One Developers Given A Monthly Gamerscore Increase Limit

  1. I’m a fairly hardcore completionist and this idea both terrifies and excites me. Sometimes it’s disappointing that I’ve hit 1000G in a game I really love, because ti often feels that I have no reason to continue playing it when there’s so many other games to finish up. On the other hand, if a game is awful, I just won’t complete it.

    There are several games sitting on my card that had awful DLCs (I’m looking at you RE5), so they will sit there forever incomplete, because I’m not willing to buy and play a DLC knowing I won’t enjoy it. This system will be the same. New achievements will only make me go back to the game if I enjoyed it in the first place and it seems worthwhile.

    Nice post.

  2. Thanks! I’m a pretty big completionist myself. Currently sitting at 192 games at 100%…not to brag, lol. But like you say, I’d if it’s a game I’m really into at the time I’d love to see new achievements added. For instance, I completed the original Mass Effect 7 times…lol

    Hopefully they don’t go that far with it: Complete the storyline 10 times 1(GS)

Leave a Reply

